Hiroshima – August 6   Leave a comment

August 6 is Hiroshima Day. Did you read about Hiroshima today in the corporate controlled media?

File:Hiroshima montage.jpg

From top left:Hiroshima Castle, Baseball game of Hiroshima Toyo Carp in Hiroshima Municipal Baseball Stadium, Hiroshima Peace Memorial (Genbaku Dome), Night view of Ebisu-cho, Children’s Peace Monument – published in Wikipedia

Rev. John Dear, jesuit priest  is an author, activist and lecturer who teaches nonviolence in the tradition of Mahatma Gandhi, Martin Luther King, Jr., and Dorothy Day. He is the author of many books, including: Living Peace: A Spirituality of Contemplation and Action;  Jesus the Rebel: Bearer of God’s Peace and Justice;  and his autobiography, A Persistent Peace: One Man’s Struggle for a Nonviolent World. Non-violence is a core value in Rev. Dear’s understanding of the Gospel.

In his reflection on Hiroshima Day, and the beginning of nuclear warfare, Rev. Dear concludes with the following words:

August 6th marks the 68th anniversary of the U.S. atomic bombing of Hiroshima, and August 9th, marks Nagasaki. These dates invite us to reflect on the “normalcy” of our culture of death, and how much we fit into it. Do we want to be like the suburban people of Dachau or Los Alamos, or can we peacefully say no to the culture of death, try to help each other wake up to the fullness of life, and turn to the God of peace for the gift of nuclear disarmament?

That’s what Hiroshima asks of each one of us.”

For the whole reflection by John Dear, published in the Huffington Post, visit: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/john-dear/remembering-hiroshima-at_b_3714550.html

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: